The power of “Mahlzeit”

Today I forgot my sunglasses, my book and went out for 8 hours that involved long distances with only 45 % battery on my phone. Logically, my phone couldn’t last this long – so all of a sudden there was a lot of light and casual staring around. I was mentally naked. Partly physically, too (the facial part I mean).
Nice to be “present” to this extent, if you are familiar with meditation techniques. Yet, one time – enough, thank you.

So while I was bored 1 hour each direction I thought of “Mahlzeit” thing Germans have. It works like this (speaking of work place):

Between 1 – 2 p.m. it is when you get to have your lunch break. You go into kitchen and see someone already eating. You say “Mahlzeit” (literally means “meal time” – German is based on compound words). What you hear in return…no, not thank you (I thought so too!). You say simply “Mahlzeit” in return. Almost never you hear the alternative “Guten Appetit”.

I don’t know who came up with this and whats the story behind (or maybe the lack of it) – I just do not understand it. You kind of both see that you got the meal and yes it is 1 p.m. — so why not to point out the obvious fact out loud?

I love German language, but anything food related I prefer going French.

Bon Appétit!

Check out my previous post on the power of “Doch”.

**P.S. On my previous post I encouraged you to comment/like/follow me here. However, I found out that you need to give away your email address to comment or create a WordPress account to like and follow. This might be painful for you I understand that. In any case, if you feel like going through this temporary process to give a feedback – I will be very happy! Otherwise, stay tuned for updates that are coming very soon!**

6 thoughts on “The power of “Mahlzeit”

Leave a comment